Creative Zen Neeon

03Oct05

Zen Neeon

It’s about time that I start using this blog. First entry is about the delicious Creative Zen Neeon. It’s been on the market in Singapore for a while now, but the last time I checked, it was still incertain whether it’s ever going to be released in Europe. So sad. I’m finally ready for a mp3-player. Right now I’m just using my cellphone, a Nokia 6230 as a mp3-player. In one way having a mp3-player and cellphone in one gadget is very practical, but there are also some cons unfortunately:
– sound
– battery life
– space
– earplugs

Of course, these things improve every month as new cellphones get released. But right now, I don’t think they are good enough compared to “plain” mp3-players. Maybe if I waited ’till next year, and then buy a new mp3-cellphone.

I’ve compared Zen Neeon with (what else than?) Apple iPod Mini:
Space: 5 GB > 6 GB
Battery life:
16 hours >18 hours
Weight: 75 g > 102.1 g
Size: 79.9mm x 46.9mm x 15.9mm > 91.4mm x 50.8mm x 12.7mm
Audio Support: MP3, WAV, WMA = AAC, MP3, WAV, Apple Lossless, Audible, AIFF
(I don’t feel like measuring these two up against each other as I’ll only be using mp3 anyway, and because most of the formats iPod supports are Apple’s)
Display: LCD, 128 x 64 (LED colour backlight) 1.67-inch grayscale LCD (LED backlight)
Voice Recording:
Yes > No
Radio: Yes (FM tuner, up to 32 presets) > No
Connectivity: USB 1.1 & 2.0 and microphone USB 2.0 and Firewire 400 (wire bought seperately)
Accessories:
High quality Earphones (with colours – wee), USB 2.0 Cable, Line-in Cable, Pouch, Neck Strap, Creative Stik-On™ (1 piece included) > Belt Clip, Apple Earphones, USB 2.0 cable

Besides this I should mention that the Apple menus are probably much better than Zen Neeon’s, and with iPod Mini you also get games (woot – woot!)… Heh. Bottom line, these are two very similar products and I would love to have either of them. It’s just that I’m a tad more appealed to the design of Zen Neeon.

Claiming: Technorati Profile

2 Responses to “Creative Zen Neeon”

  1. 1 Mike

    I just bought one from Creative. I’ll have it in about five days. It looks pretty cool. The screen is smaller than the Micro (which the dude at Creative said is being phased out), and I heard that the battery can’t be switched out. This will suck if the battery ever dies and won’t come back to life. Of course I didn’t find that out until after I made the purchase.

  2. 2 Tina

    You can’t switch the iPod battery either. :S



