World Cup fever!

27Jun06

Another long period with any updates… It’s finally summer holidays now and I’m leaving on Thursday (i.e. in two days) so there’s going to be another dead period without updates. I’m going to Croatia and I won’t be back untill July 10th.
__________________________________________________________________

The gadget which I will be presenting today is one that my mother would approve of. Not only is it cool and fun, but it’s also somewhat educational. When searching for a unique World Cup gadget, I found loads of interesting things, but this was the only thing that wasn’t so English nor boring. Dudes and dudettes (I watched a re-run of Step by Step yesterday…), let me present to you a World Cup trophy replica which plays the 25 nations’ national anthems (with full orchestration!!):

Anthem Ball

Heh, that was an anti-climax. To play a national anthem, all you have to do is click on one of the flags on the ball. When I was reading the description page, I noticed that it had the Norwegian anthem, and Norway’s not even in the World Cup this year. So from this I can only assume that it’s either flawed or an old invention. Nonetheless, it’s pretty cool (and educational) though I’m probably going to get sick of listening to the anthems at (probably) bad sound quality. It’s not expensive at all though, so to quote the description page: “If you only buy one World Cup gadget this year, make it the Anthem Ball.”

What team are you guys cheering for this year? I’m with Argentina! 😀

28 Responses to “World Cup fever!”

  1. This is nice actually. Although not very revolutionary, I liked the ‘press-the’flag’ thing.
    I’m not cheering for any team at all. I don’t know why but it seems soccer has gradually gotten out of my field of interests.
    The ‘Argen[tina]’ bit is… funny 🙂

  2. 2 greenlightsabers

    After you get bored with it, you can use it for it’s “real” purpose… 😛

  3. 3 Qwerty Maniac

    Yeah kick it around and you will hear a tune each time 😛

    Well I am supporting Brazil, but I cant highlight part of it with the bold tags… too gross 😛 Argentina lol

  4. 4 greenlightsabers

    I want Brazil to lose… all it ever is “Brazil this, Brazil that.” Gawsh, I just wanna throw a rock at them or something.

  5. 5 Qwerty Maniac

    Well, try stopping them then 😛 I would like some new country to win too, but they dont show any hope…

  6. 6 Tina

    what’s its “real” purposes? you can’t exactly kick a trophy around, so maybe you can use it for practising your grammy and/or oscar speech?

    i didn’t think brazil was going to win at first, but they’ve improved a lot, so i see them as the biggest favourites right now. still, i want france to beat them in the quarter finals parce que j’aime la France 😀
    argentina has a good shot at winning too, me thinks, but then again, germany is really good this year 😦

    but hey, what about brazil? no, too dirty perhaps?

  7. 7 Qwerty Maniac

    Lol, the reason I didnt use the bold tags… France… lets see 😛

  8. I am a brazil supporter this year and would love to see what happens. And for the gadget its cool but to say really not that useful but still its kool

  9. I really think Germany can win the World Cup this time . They have played some excellent attacking football . Italy can also be a surprising contender as they have an easy route to semifinal ..

  10. 10 teen

    You mean July 10.

  11. 11 Qwerty Maniac

    Grr… Argentina lost but France beat brazil 😦 😦

  12. Well lol Argen’tina’ lost. Can’t yet belive Brazil lost also. I think there was some foul play. Germans might have bribed those referees. I think Germany will win….

  13. 13 Qwerty Maniac

    Noo, its gotta be Portugal, the least of all 😀

  14. Ha ha your prophecy is wrong also. So either France or Italy. Hmm lets seee….

  15. 15 Qwerty Maniac

    Ok, since all things are going wrong, am supporting france 😈

  16. 16 Qwerty Maniac

    And it worked 😀

  17. 17 Tina

    boo on you qwerty! I didn’t think France was that good this year, so they should be really proud by the fact that they got to the finals.

  18. 18 Qwerty Maniac

    Haha, well, I wasnt really supporting anyone, after Brazil lost I lost my interest 😛

  19. 19 teen

    Zidane decides to head butt , but lose the cup…. 😉
    Get it….

  20. 20 Tina

    Yes, I get it, but it’s terrible! *lol* Are you bored, teen? 😛

  21. 21 teen

    No , depressed. France should have won…. 😦

  22. 22 Tina

    I agree, but what can you do? Silver is good too 😀

  23. 23 teen

    Hey , Tina. Do you plan to blog anytime sooon 😉

  24. 24 Tina

    yes, or I’m not planning anything, but I’m hoping to start blogging again soon. I just haven’t had the time lately as I’ve been working and having my cousin stay out my house lately…

  25. 25 teen

    Pretty busy then huh !

  26. 26 Qwerty Maniac

    Ok, celebrate a month of no-posts and return… its difficult to find tech news I think, atleast pink ones? 😛

  27. 27 Tina

    *lol* Yup, especially the pink ones. No, but I have a couple of ideas on what to blog about next 😉

  28. 28 teen

    Well then , you’d better hurry.



