Pink month

07Oct06

Pink RibbonDid you know that October is the Breast Cancer Awareness Month? I felt like I should participate in making people more aware of the disease because so many people have it, yet not enough people are aware of the big possibility of getting it. So I’m wearing my pink breast cancer wristband this month, and I’m going to show you some fast facts I gathered from gurl.com (A site I used to visit frequently when I was younger…):

– After skin cancer, breast cancer is the most commonly diagnosed form of cancer in women. An estimated 40,000 women will die from it this year.
– It’s a scary and serious disease–one that affects one in eight women over the course of their lifetime–but it is extremely rare among teenagers.
– Early detection of breast cancer, through monthly breast self-exam and particularly yearly mammography after age 40, offers the best chance for survival.

If you want to help give more women the opportunity of getting treatment for breast cancer, you don’t necessarily need to just donate money. You can actually buy some pretty fancy stuff as well. Remember the post I had about blenders? The Kitchen Aid blender is a part of a big group of pink gadgets that you can buy to support the cause. Here are some others:

Ergo Ensis S laptop Victorinox pen knife
Mag-Lite Morphy Richards Pink Turbosteam Iron

[via Gadget Candy]

14 Responses to “Pink month”

  1. 1 greenlightsabers

    Aha! Yes, I will also be buying a pink ribbon. I bought one last year but lost it. 😦

  2. 2 Qwerty Maniac

    This one [Theme] really does fit your blog and specifically, this post. Finally a neat theme that resembles K2. πŸ˜€

    Have they found cure to all types of cancer ?

  3. 3 Qwerty Maniac

    One problem I encountered was the header, it has text lenght display limit. Had to rename my blog to ‘Qwerty Maniac’ by removing the typo stuff…

  4. At first my title was too long as well, but today it worked fine. Big reason for choosing it was the subtle pink… πŸ˜›

    Have they found cure to all types of cancer ?
    No… There’s no magic pill, but I think there are treatments for most kinds of cancer. Like for breast cancer there’s chemotherapy.

  5. Hey Tina, Nice theme.

    BTW what is that Image in the lower left corner of the image grouo (ohh what should i call it ?)

  6. Being a med student, I can tell Tina has medical instincts!
    Btw, this theme is very nice that massive amounts of people – including myself – are applying it to their blogs. I think WP should add link color choices to give more variety.

  7. Heh, thanks. Unfortunately I’m terrified of blood!
    I agree with you about the theme. More customizing options please!

  8. Thilak: It’s a flashlight! Or Mag-Lite. It’s the kind you can have on your keychain.

  9. 9 Qwerty Maniac

    A flash light / laser pen that emits pink too ? Or green/blue/etc ? Pink lasers not good :no:

  10. It’s a flashlight, not a laser pen, and as far as I know, it emits normal visible light. Here’s a product page: http://www.zbattery.com/solitaire-magliteflashlights.html

  11. 11 Qwerty Maniac

    Oh ok.

    Happy birthday by the way, have a great week then πŸ˜€

  12. Thank you!!! I’m a big girl now πŸ˜€

  13. 13 Qwerty Maniac

    Yeah you are, 18! Lol, partay harder now πŸ˜›

  14. 14 Qwerty Maniac

    Forgot the best advantage, no more lying on the web form pages πŸ˜†



