Searching for the SAPB

23Dec06

Why do I like piggy banks?
1. They are adorable!
2. It’s fun to put money into the small slots.
3. Piggy banks make me happy because I have such nice memories from the time when they were popular.

Since my piggy bank is long lost (I have a piggy bank shaped as a house now… Wtf?), I decided to go on a quest to find a Super Awesome Piggy Bank (SAPB).

The question that pops up is, what makes a piggy bank super awesome? How about making piggy banks in all types of colours and patterns? I guess that was what the creators of the Posh-Pig Piggy Banks were thinking when they made the “Lucky Pig”, “Trooper Pig” and many others.
Posh-Pig Piggy Banks
I think they look quite awesome. I especially like the boxes they come in.

Pig E BankIn fear of that this entry wouldn’t have anything to do with technology, I decided to add an electronic piggy bank, or the “Pig E Bank” as it’s called.

The LCD screen shows you how much money you have in the bank, but the Pig E Bank only reckognizes pennies, nickels, dimes and quarters, so it goes without saying that you can only use it if you’re American. The pig has many different voices that say how much money you have, and to retrieve coins you press the nose. Fun!

The Pig E Bank has many cool features, but it takes away the fun of guessing how much money you got. I remember how I was always off on my guessings, thinking “this must at least be 1000kr” when it was in fact barely 100kr. The Pig E Bank would prevent me from guessing wrongly, but I don’t think I would want it to…

Mint CoinkThis piggy bank is a bit different than the traditional piggy bank because it doesn’t have the thin slot. Instead the Mint Coink has a funnel where you can but loads of coins in at once, as well as get them out. “Innovative”, they call it, “taking away half the fun”, I call it! So like the Pig E Bank, the Mint Coink is not the SAPB (pronounced “zap-bee”).

Precious Moments Baby Bank PigThe final piggy bank is just a simple pink piggy bank called “Precious Moments Baby Bank Pig“. It doesn’t do anything special except look cute. This is still my favourite piggy bank though. I just prefer them simple.

In closing I want to say that piggy banks are a great way of saving money over a short time period. I also think that they rock, and I know that there are many other people who agree.

6 Responses to “Searching for the SAPB”

  1. I had a piggy bank long long ago, I was a kid then 😛 It always used to be empty so I threw it lol!

    I like the black pig 😛

  2. 2 Wengistein

    OMGAWSH I had piggy bank when I was smaller… except it was a bear. 😛 But those ones are so cute. Cute piggy banks FTW!

  3. hmm…I have a piggy bank full of a few ancient coins ( like from turkey and stuff ) and I luv the black on among all those above! it’s l33t!
    btw ever seen http://www.joshspear.com/ lot’s of cool stuff you might find some interesting 🙂

  4. Wish i had such choices when i was a kid . But it does bring back happy memories of childhood .

  5. cool blog

  6. 6 Jonah B

    I loooooooooooooove Pig-E-Banks. The ones that keep track of what you put in and if u type in like 25cents it’ll drop out a quater.They’re awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!



