Getting on the green bandwagon

08May07

As some of you might know, I’m in the middle of my exam period right now. I’m having a week off, so I thought I would make some time to blog here. What have I been up to lately? I’ve been studying a lot. I’ve finished 7 exams and have 7 left! Yay. I can’t believe the end of high school is so near. What else? Facebook! Yup, I’ve been bitten by the Facebook bug as well. I spend a ridiculous amount of time there considering how little I actually do when I’m there. I have a couple of things that I do over and over again (e.g. check news feeds and group postings).

So Facebooking is one thing I’ve started doing thanks to the oh so fun bandwagon. Another bandwagon I’m jumping on is the blogging-about-the-enviroment one. Mind you, I’m not going to tell you how using dark coloured layouts is going to save electricity and hence save the rainforest ( 😛 ), but I thought I’d share an interesting chart that I found over at Geeksugar. It’s a chart made by Greenpeace showing which electronics manufacters are the greenest.

Guide to greener electronics

The list:
1. Lenovo
2. Nokia
3. Sony Ericsson
4. Dell
5. Samsung
6. Motorola
7. Fujitsu-Siemens
8. HP
9. Acer
10. Toshiba
11. Sony
12. LGE
13. Panasonic
14. Apple

Even though I keep talking about how great iPods are, you should maybe think twice before buying one. Here’s what Greenpeace has to say to Apple: Green my Apple. But I’m sorry, I will never buy a Lenovo just because the machines have good quality and the production of them is enviromental. They are just so ugly. I just don’t get why people have to make ugly computers. It can’t be that hard hire a designer… (This was a rant I was going to start in another post, but I’m being efficient, so I’m merging the rant-post with the eco-post making it the rantico-post).

5 Responses to “Getting on the green bandwagon”

  1. Nice post but this environmentalist stuff is definitely not for me. And yeah I had to say that I have shifted to another domain so you can change the url on the blogroll.
    http://www.blog.karthiksn.com

  2. 2 anomit

    Ye!!
    I am using a Lenovo R60 lappy, and I also agree it looks quite ugly, like a big, solid black box. But its tough as a nut. Maybe it doesn’t have a titanium casing, but the design won’t let you damage the internal parts so easily.

  3. World is now thinking about going green, everybody should seriously think about e-waste,
    Kudos to greenpeace to create awareness among the people…keep it up..

  4. 4 Beta3

    Ok this post was useful. Next time I buy a PC or laptop i will consider Lenova( or Dell coz they seem to be better in other terms) but then what about the computer am currently using? Won’t it join the massive e-waste being built up around the world?

  5. 5 Tina

    Hmm… Good question. Maybe you could donate the computer? Disposing it in the e-waste bin rather than the normal trash bin is better than nothing though. A lot of people feel like it doesn’t matter if they for instance drive a hybrid, if they have to fly 10 times a year anyway. While I’m sure they could cut down on flying, I also believe that doing small changes matter a lot as well. The only way big changes can start to happen is if people drop the “I am only one person”-attitude, because that will certaintly not get us anywhere!

    Another thing that’s putting Apple & co at the bottom of the list, is that their electronics contains toxic, so when people dissambles the computers, they might be poisened. More the reason to think green 😛



